38

24 Apr

April is wrapping up and it will be summer before I know it. I thought it would be a good time to review my goals for the year.

 

So to review:

Goals for 2014.

  1. Participate in the Hands Free Revolution. (aka put down the internet and spend quality time with kids)
  2. Obtain my CPEN certification. (Its a pediatric emergency room nurse thing)
  3. Paying off my student loan.
  4. Breastfeed for a long time.
  5. Be Happy.

 

Number One.
This has actually been going really great. I ended up deleting the facebook app on my phone. This has resulted in me becoming one of those people who gets really irritated whenever I see people constantly on their phones.  I now hate people on their phone at the dinner table, or whenever two people are having a conversation. This has caused some slight irritation in my marriage because my husband isnt quite on the same page. But, I am not missing out on anything Landon has to tell me because I’m too busy reading someone’s status or finishing a round of Sudoku. Another amazing thing that has come from this is that it turns out… I don’t actually care very much about what is happening in the land of facebook. I used to spend so much time reading my news feed. Now I get irritated when I start to read it because I become so bored so quickly. —- This one is coming along nicely.

Number Two.
I haven’t been pushing this very hard. There are two recommended classes to take before taking this certification exam. I have taken one of the classes. I haven’t been able to schedule the second one yet. My goal is to get more focused on this around July/August.  —-Working on it.

Number Three.DONE. Finished. Paid in Full. —-Amazing.

Number Four.
Breastfeeding is still going strong. Pumping at work still seriously sucks. I still have all of my same concerns about teeth, but we haven’t crossed that bridge yet. My current goal is to breastfeed until teeth and hopefully until August (one year mark). —-Going good.

Number Five.
FAIL. Being happy was a complicated goal that I simplified down into two words. I haven’t done a very good job. I am a happy person, I love my life, I love my husband, I love my family. The problem is I let little details stress me out too much. I let insignificant things get me down. My goal for the year was to be happy most of the time. Stop being negative. Lose my Eeyore personality. I honestly believe that life is what you make it. I believe that no matter what, you can choose to be happy. I haven’t been choosing to be happy. I am going to take this more seriously this month. I am going to put a plan in place to help me be accountable.

Project Happy.

1. Morning time.
I suck at morning time. It is the worst time of my day. But I know that when I get good sleep at night and wake up early, I have more productive, nicer, happier days. I want to wake up in a good mood! (I’m not getting a good start considering it’s after midnight). Unfortunately, this is extra difficult for me because I have an infant who like to wake up multiple times throughout the night and I work until 2 am every other week. But my goal is to go to sleep before 11 (unless working) and I’m not going to push the snooze button in the morning. This is my step one on becoming a morning person. We will reevaluate in June.

2.Happy Mouth.
I can be a very negative person. Around my kids I am much more positive, but with adults I speak a lot of negativity. I find people irritating, I don’t like the ways certain things are run. I disapprove of  the way this is happening, I think it should be done this better way. My house is never clean enough. I’m too tired to cook dinner. I don’t have time to do anything fun. Blahblahblahblahblah. My goal for this month is basically: Shut Up. Back to- If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all. I’m going to take this one day at a time. I’m reluctant to admit that this is going to be really hard for me. I’m going to start by saying, Tomorrow, only nice things will come out of my mouth. I’m going to be working really hard at this. I will start with my words and then hopefully make an easy transition to make happy thoughts.

So thats where I will start on the happiness project.

 

IMG_8387

I love this picture. IMG_8390Landon invited his cousin to be his date to his first school dance. Not a lot of dancing went on. But they had a good time. :)

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

